Skip to content

FRANCOISE NIELLY

06/09/2011

FRANCE |

 “I have vivid images of colors, of brightness. Yellow, sunshine, blue, heat, cicadas, pin smell, light… all of that classical imagery of South France is very alive as an experience inside of me. Maybe it is what led me to the use of fluorescent colors in my paintings.Francoise Nielly

It’s known that the childhood is one of the most important periods of an artist’s life. When you close your eyes and think about those years, what colors and what kind of memories do you see?

I love the urban culture, the one that grows in the street and that turns cities into playgrounds. All these graphs on the walls, on railways… It is such an untamed, wild and lively expression. Always on the move, crossing forbidden territories, border-law… It’s exciting!

I also love the racial diversity, the blend of colors, of people, the contrasts… Life in all it’s expressions!

At the same time, I do have also  a strong need to escape from it. Painting is probably my main way to do it, even though I go back to nature quite often, but  I don’t feel like living surrounded by cows!

I do feel close to artists like Bacon, Warhol, Bodini, Freud. Because they are portraitist and I can relate to the way they see and how they translate it.

Abstract painting can also be close to me. In fact there is a part of my painting that is very close to abstract work, even if I end up being figurative.

I am very close to nature, I love the sea, it is a space of freedom that you loose when you live in town. Respect, happiness, protection… These are the words that come up when I think of nature.

Music can be both : a mood creator as well as a background. It depends. Sometimes it will feed me with the energy I may be lacking. Most of the time, the one to one with the painting is easier, with music. It is also a soothing presence when facing a white canvas  So it keeps the engine running softer but it is never the engine by itself.

Love can have quite a number of expressions… Talking about man/woman bounding, I don’t have much memories of happy love. Besides some fury, intense and passionate temporary moments.

Fortunately love shines in different fields. I am a passionate woman and I am passionate about my life, about doing my life with intensity. That is the way I approach painting, traveling, reading, etc.

Somehow, painting may be the love of my life; and as in every couple relationship it’s a moving territory with high and lows, fights, weariness, desire, fire and water. It can be exhausting, exhilarating, boring, fun, sparkling… whatever I go through with it, I just can’t stop loving it.

.

Source: Francoise Nielly

.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

